The Jane Chambers Award


THE JANE CHAMBERS AWARD recognizes new plays and performance texts created by women writers which present a feminist perspective and that provide significant opportunities for female performers. This annual award, founded in 1984, welcomes experimentations in form and in subject matter. It is given in memory of lesbian playwright Jane Chambers, who through her plays such as A Late SnowMy Blue HeavenLast Summer at Bluefish Cove, and Kudzu became a major feminist voice in American theater. Sponsored by the Women and Theatre Program with the Association for Theater in Higher Education, the contest understands feminism to cross an array of class, sex, race, national, ethnic, theatrical, and/or geographic perspectives. The Jane Chambers Contest winner receives $1000 and a rehearsed reading at ATHE’s annual summer conference, where she is recognized at ATHE's Awards Ceremony.

Read more about Jane Chambers and her work at

 Submissions for 2022 will open October 15, 2021. Please find more information on the contest website. The deadline for submissions is February 1, 2022.

Contact our Jane Chambers coordinators Jennifer-Scott Mobley and Maya Roth with questions.

2022 Jane Chambers Award


Mama, I wish I were silver  by Amanda L. Andrei


Runners Up:

In McClintock’s Corn by Carolyn Gage

Joan Dark by Christina Pumariega


Honorable Mentions:

Maiden Voyage by Cayenne Douglass

Little Egg, Big World by Rachel Leighson

The Dirty: Survival Skills of State School Girls with Good Bodies in the Year 2008   by Keyanna Khatiblou

In The Same Space by Parade Stone

Congratulations to all! Curation Notes for all of our honorees will be posted soon. Check out our interview with Amanda L. Andrei below! 

Previous Winners

Curation Notes for Winners and Honorable Mentions can be read by clicking on the year.

Winner: Peeling Oranges by Patty Kim Hamilton

Winner: How We Survived by Pauline David-Sax

Winner: In the Cervix of Others by Alice Eve Cohen

Winner: Queens by Martyna Majok

Winner: Never Not Once by Carey Crim

Winner: No Candy by Emma Staunton

Winner: Roe by Lisa Loomer

Winner: Femmes by Gina Young

Winner: Full/Self by Claire Chafee

Winner: Still by Jen Silverman

Winner: Mud Offerings by Natalie Marlena Goodnow

Winner: A Live Dress by Martha Jane Kaufman

Winner: The Siegels of Montauk by Meryl Cohn

Winner: Unspeakable Acts by Mary F. Casey

Winner: Trojan Barbie: A Car-Crash Encounter with Euripides' Trojan Women by Christine Evans