Previous winners and honorees











2017 Winner:
NEVER NOT ONCE by Carey Crim

Runner Up:

This year our judges awarded 4 Honorable Mentions:
A SMALL OAK TREE RUNS RED by Lekethia Dalcoe
PARADISE by Laura Maria Censabella
THE O’MALLEY GAMBIT by Kate Monaghan
POLICARPA by Diana Burbano

For more information, click here

​Thanks to all of the feminist artists, scholars, dramaturges and WTP friends who participated in the 2017 adjudication process! 
READERS Jessica Brater, Katherine Boone, Will Brooks, Sarah E. Clark, Tracy Donahue, Jessica Gunn, Dani Keil, Elana Kepner, Sarah Konig, Eero Lane, Leah Lowe, Olivia Matthews, Alexis Riley, Meg Savilonis, Angenette Spalank, Teresa Stankiewietz, Jennifer Toohey
Final Round: Kimberly Dark, Jen-Scott Mobley, Maya E. Roth

More Questions?  

Maya Roth & Jennifer-Scott Mobley
Jane Chambers Coordinators
Elaine Molinaro
Student Jane Chambers Coordinator

Donate to the Jane Chambers program here. WTP is a non-profit organization, so donations are tax deductible.

THE JANE CHAMBERS AWARD recognizes new plays & performance texts created by women writers which present a feminist perspective and that provide significant opportunities for female performers. This annual award, founded in 1984, welcomes experimentations in form and in subject matter. It is given in memory of lesbian playwright Jane Chambers, who through her plays such as A Late Snow, My Blue HeavenLast Summer at Bluefish Cove, and Kudzu became a major feminist voice in American theater. Sponsored by the Women and Theatre Program with the Association for Theater in Higher Education, the contest understands feminism to cross an array of class, sex, race, national, ethnic, theatrical, and/or geographic perspectives. The Jane Chambers Contest winner receives $1000 & a rehearsed reading at ATHE’s annual summer conference, where she is recognized at ATHE's Awards Ceremony.   ​


Please check back in September for details on how to submit for the 2018 award. 

We are pleased to announce the winner and honorees of 2017